1. Home
  2. News
  3. The Gloom In The Corner Sign With Sharptone Records, Drop Single “Ronin”, Announce New Album
The Gloom In The Corner Sign With Sharptone Records, Drop Single “Ronin”, Announce New Album

The Gloom In The Corner Sign With Sharptone Records, Drop Single “Ronin”, Announce New Album


Newly-signed up-and-coming Australian metalcore outfit The Gloom In The Corner have announced their sophomore album ‘Trinity‘, which releases October 28th via Sharptone Records.

Dubbing themselves a “Cinema-core” band, The Gloom In The Corner steeps their music in cinematic concepts, with their releases telling a cohesive and connected story following a deep lore. ‘Trinity‘ is no exception to this, with the new album continuing where their debut left off in the story throughout its 13-tracks. Boasting a star-studded cast of guest features, ‘Trinity‘ takes the band’s storytelling abilities to new heights, with the likes of Ryan Kirby (Fit For A King), Joe Badolato (Fit For An Autopsy), Lauren Babic (Red Handed Denial), and Elijah Witt (Cane Hill), among many others all portraying characters in its most pivotal moments. In addition to getting signed and announcing their new album, the band have also given fans their first taste of ‘Trinity‘ with the release of their new single “Ronin“, which includes a crushing feature from Ryo Kinoshita of Crystal Lake. Accompanied by a visually-stunning animated music video, “Ronin” is a devastating track, captivating the listener with its dramatic vocal deliveries and intensely cinematic production.

The band’s frontman Mikey Arthur explained the lore of the new track stating, 

“‘Ronin’, from a lore perspective, re-introduces ‘Homecoming’ protagonist Ethan Hardy after his death at the end of that EP. Upon donning a new suit of armor, known as the ‘Black Cloud’, he pushes his emotions deep inside, channeling them into a display of violence. Hardy wreaks havoc across Hell under no command but his own, earning the name of ‘The Ronin’. The redux of both the ‘Witch Hunt’ and ‘Rodent’ breakdown not only serves as an Easter egg for old fans, but continues the story begun in ‘Homecoming‘ with more brutality and gore.

As always, the track serves as an analogy, albeit a tragic one. Despite how much you may ask for help, or that people can see that you’re in pain, you’re on your own and the only one who can fix you is you. ‘Ronin‘ is an angry, relentless tirade that, in short says; ‘I came to you when I needed help after you said that you would, and you sat back and did nothing.”

‘Trinity’ artwork. Credit: Sharptone Records

The band also released an in-depth explanation on the “Ronin” Lore. which can be read below.

“Ethan Hardy’s descent to the Rabbit Hole was an unorthodox event; standing before the Panel of Judgement after his suicide, he forced his way into the Rabbit Hole without the approved sentencing of the Panel, determined to seek out Rachel and find a way back to the Mortal Realm once she had been found. Going against the approval of the Panel, Ethan became a High-Value Target for the Keepers, hunted by both demon-kind and the Judges in his quest in the Rabbit Hole. At first, the Panel were determined to retrieve him to face proper sentencing, but after violently terminating multiple Keepers, he became marked for permanent termination by the Panel. Demons and Keepers were no match for him however, and Ethan’s quest turned to a bloody and barbarical crusade, decimating those who stood in his way without hesitation. After a near-death battle, Ethan was sought out by the Narrator, who guided him to an ancient set of mystical armor, the armor of Sherlock Bones from his time in the First Reign under King Baphicho, the “Black Cloud”. After altering and modernizing the armor to suit his needs, Ethan set back out on his quest, becoming even more violent and bloody than before, where he earned the name “Rōnin” from those who both feared and hunted him. After some time, he found Rachel after the guidance of The Narrator.”

The Gloom In The Corner‘s new album ‘Trinity‘ releases October 28th. See the official tracklist for the album and watch the official music video for ‘Ronin‘ below.

Trinity Tracklisting:

  1. From Heaven To Hell

  2. Obliteration Imminent (ft. Monique Pym of Reliqa)

  3. Ronin (ft. Ryo Kinoshita of Crystal Lake)

  4. Black Rot (ft. Monica Strut of The Last Martyr)

  5. New Order (ft. Taylor Barber of Left To Suffer)

  6. Clutch (ft. Amelia Duffield)

  7. Pandora’s Box (ft. Lauren Babic of Red Handed Denial)

  8. Behemoth

  9. Gravity

  10. Red Clouds (ft. Crystal Joilena, Elijah Witt of Cane Hill, Rachel Jeffreson)

  11. Nor Hell A Fury

  12. Gatekeeper (ft. Ryan Kirby of Fit For A King)

  13. Hail To The King (ft. Joe Badolato of Fit For An Autopsy)

Mateo Ottie I make loud guitar noises and have unpopular opinions. If it’s underground alternative or progressive metal, I probably like it.