1. Home
  2. Reviews
  3. First Impressions Of Sunspear’s Debut Self-Titled Album
First Impressions Of Sunspear’s Debut Self-Titled Album

First Impressions Of Sunspear’s Debut Self-Titled Album


California metalcore ensemble Sunspear are releasing their self-titled album tomorrow, March 1. ‘Sunspear’ boasts 10 tracks and collaborations with artists including Left To Suffer and Nik Nocturnal.

Beginning with one of the most easy-to-like riffs, “Purgatory” introduces itself as a song made for rock and metalcore listening rotations. This is the range that’s about to be heard throughout the album in its most condensed and easily digestible form.

“Rat King” grabs you by the shirt collar and screams its cathartic “shame on you, I should have known” rant in your face. Included with it is a particularly pummeling performance from drummer Ryan Hammelberg and a breakdown that carries the persistent, disapproving spirit of a chant uttered in protest.

After briefly examining feelings of emptiness on “Embers” featuring Kyle Bihrle, ominous “K.C.D.” expands on the lack of difficulty this project has when it comes to fusing its talents with others. Left To Suffer’s nu-deathcore stylings mingle in the track to deliver genre-hopping fierceness complete with a Taylor Barber feature. “K.C.D.” packs a punch, and will especially resonate with those who found some of their most cherished metal discoveries around the early 2000’s.

Pulling back the fury, a somber guitar and vocal combo open “In A Stay” and it’s the quietest moment you’ve gotten since track 1. Though screams can be heard at the end, this track stands out with a softer, more melodious offering from both Tony Deputy and Ryan Williams — their passionate vocal performance is likely what you’ll be fixated on until it’s over. If you like groovy guitars and maracas, you’ll probably be hooked “Bad Vibe” once you hear the opening bit. It’s later revealed to be the most fun, amped up song on the album.

In order to properly contemplate the simulation, the heaviness that might’ve been missed in the last two songs needed to make a swift return. “Intelligent Design” leans into its subtly unconfined attitude until its closing breakdown. It feels brutally heavy whilst also being melodic and spacious with a piano riff, guitar solo, and bouncy synth from outer space sprinkled in to catch just the right amount of attention.

Sunspear and musician and internet creator Nik Noctural join forces for “Through The Pines”, an instrumentally agile gloomy soundscape with plenty of whispers that make for a unique main hook. Futuristic synths make a comeback to complement the brashness of “Drowning In The Dark” and if you’ve ever needed an anthem for all-out pessimism, this is a worthy contender. During a breakdown guided by voices, Lost In Separation frontman Milad Parsa enhances the track with a palpable rage. Every word feels soaked in a kind of aggression that can’t be contained and amplifies the track’s power.

Closer “Compromise” embodies elements of accessible radio rock in a context that’s not afraid to have modern influences. Much of ‘Sunspear’’s beauty is found in the way it flows. It retains a baseline consistency, allowing the accents that give the album its free spirit their own respective moments in the spotlight. We hope you’re as curious as we were to hear it.

Serene Indie/pop princess and real life Powerpuff Girl. Finds intrigue in ambient soundscapes, vulnerability, and conviction.