ALBUM: We Are Harlot – ‘We Are Harlot’


History repeats, in music especially – The reemergence of nu-metal in recent years for instance. Some bands are so rooted in an older sound that it feels as if the musicians came from a time machine and not the modern music scene. Such is the case with Roadrunner Records’ most recent signing We Are Harlot, who seem to be pulled straight from the famous 80’s Sunset Strip and into 2015.

With the highly-anticipated release of the group’s self-titled record, We Are Harlot hope to bring sleazy 80’s rock n’ roll into the modern, which they do with success. Despite the odd synth pulse that begins album opener ‘Dancing On Nails’ the song is a bona fide 80’s extravaganza, soulful melodies, Van Halen-inspired riffs, Aerosmith swagger and all. This track just as well as any demonstrates how tight the core musicians are, with guitarist Jeff George especially proving how much his time spent playing with Sebastian Bach has made a difference. Between the sexual allusions (of which there are VERY many), burning desires and undeniable longing for something real, vocalist Danny Worsnop acts as a fine ringleader for the 4-ring circus of bluesy musicianship and high-pitched vocalizations he and his comrades create. Specifically Worsnop and George, who harmonize with each other to solid effect, make for a great pair, especially in the more melodic “Denial” and “Never Turning Back”.  “One More Night”‘s spiraling guitars and rushed drum pounding make for the heaviest and most headbang worthy moment the record has to offer. But it is “Flying Too Close To The Sun” with its epic nature that really swings low and hits hard, Worship utilizing his signature growl to solid effect here.

Despite being labelled as a rock record, the self-titled debut comes equipped with enough variety to keep itself fresh through 11 tracks and with consistency in-tact. Though the strength of the softer tracks such as “The One” and “I Tried” is questionable, as is the lyrical depth of “I’ve got a dirty little thing to call my own”, the band sound thoroughly inspired throughout, a cause for celebration when the fact that this is a debut is taken into consideration. Despite the crude and thin nature of the lyrics, these songs are framed in classic songwriting brilliance. Don’t mistake this for only being Danny Wornop’s next band either – WAH are a strong quartet with the capabilities to reach the top of the charts and ascend higher in the active rock world. They’re a fantastic addition to Roadrunner’s already solid stock of (catchy) rock bands.

7.8 Great
  • Instrumentation 8.5
  • Lyrics 6.5
  • Vocals 8
  • Band Chemistry 8.5
  • Replay Value 7.5
  • User Ratings (0 Votes) 0

About Author

Matthew Powers

I write reviews for CaliberTV and enjoy the existence of music.

Leave A Reply